Skip to Content

Josquin des Prez

Josquin des Prez

The Golden Renaissance

Stile Antico launches a trilogy of recordings on the Decca label with a portrait of Josquin des Prez, marking the 500th anniversary of the composer’s death. The superb Missa Pange lingua forms the centrepiece of a varied sequence of motets and chansons, including some of Josquin’s best loved music – Ave Maria, virgo serena and Inviolata, integra et casta es Maria – as well as the premiere recording of the chanson Vivrai je tousjours. Two works dedicated to Josquin’s memory, by Hieronymus Vinders and Jacquet de Mantua, complete this sumptuous programme.

This album is available for digital download and streaming worldwide: please click here for links to various providers. Physical copies are not yet available in the US and Canada; we expect these to be released in late March.

Recorded: July, 2020
Label: Decca Classics
Format: CD
Catalogue Number: 485 1340

Cohesion and clarity of purpose… the tone is luminous, textures are admirably clear. It’s hard to fault Stile Antico’s execution… Those final laments make a heartfelt impression indeed.


£11.99 (plus P&P)

Secure payments by PayPal

Shipping is available to UK addresses only. International customers can purchase at popular online music retailers.

Gramophone Award for Spatial Audio, 2021

Gramophone Award for Spatial Audio, 2021

Stile Antico: the finest group to appear in Renaissance music in two decades. This CD is as brilliant, immaculate and striking as its predecessors.

Christophe Huss, Le Devoir (12 February, 2021)

View full review

A great introduction for the Josquin novice… In a nice touch, Stile has also included two motets by the composer’s contemporaries – emotive musical homages, both – giving some sense of his extraordinary legacy.

Alexandra Coghlan, The Tablet (4 February, 2021)

View full review

Two laments on the death of Josquin… provide a fitting and stirring conclusion to this compelling recording.

Christian Carey, Sequenza 21 (26 March, 2021)

View full review

  1. Josquin: Salve Regina a5
  2. Plainchant: Pange lingua
  3. Josquin: Kyrie from Missa Pange lingua
  4. Josquin: Ave Maria, virgo serena
  5. Josquin: Gloria from Missa Pange lingua
  6. Josquin: Inviolata integra et casta es Maria
  7. Josquin: Credo from Missa Pange lingua
  8. Josquin: Vivrai je tousjours
  9. Josquin: El grillo
  10. Josquin: Sanctus from Missa Pange lingua
  11. Josquin: Virgo salutiferi genitrix
  12. Josquin: Agnus Dei from Missa Pange lingua
  13. Vinders: O mors inevitabilis
  14. Jacquet de Mantua: Dum vastos Adriae fluctus

Buy Online

Stile Antico is delighted to make its recordings available to UK customers through this website. Each disc is offered at the competitive price of £11.99 (plus P&P*), a saving of at least 20% on the high street price, except for Music for Compline at just £6.99 and Sing with the Voice of Melody at £7.99. In purchasing directly from Stile Antico, rather than through third-party retailers, you directly benefit the work of the group.

With the exception of Music for Compline, Tenebrae Responsories, In a Strange Land and A Spanish Nativity, all Stile Antico’s discs are issued in Hybrid SACD format, offering surround sound to those with SACD equipment, whilst playing in all conventional CD players.

Shipping is available to UK addresses only. International customers can purchase at popular online music retailers.

  • * P&P costs are £1.95 for one CD, £3.99 for 2-10, £5.99 for 11-20
  • Payment must be made through PayPal (no account necessary) in Pounds Sterling.
  • All prices include VAT at 20%. If you require a VAT receipt, please request one by selecting “Add special instructions to merchant” at the checkout.
  • Purchasers will also receive an invitation to join Stile Antico’s mailing list.

For all queries, before and after purchase, please contact